Books Added To My TBR

These are all the books I recently added to my tbr list (to be read list.)

 

River of Teeth by Sarah Gailey

I found this book through one of the blogs I follow called The Book Smugglers. They review a lot of fantasy, science fiction, and speculative fiction and I have read some amazing gems from them. This book is based on a true plan in the 20th century where the US proposed a plan to import hippopotamuses to the Louisiana swamp as an alternate source of meat. The book asks what would’ve become of the United States had this happened. It reminds me of a wild west swamp version of Planet of the Apes.

The Wren Hunt by Mary Watson

This book describes itself as perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and April Genevieve Tucholke so it’s basically saying it’s perfect for me. It’s a lyrically written story about the struggle for magic between two families, the Augers and the Judges. When I looked further into this tale, I believe it also might have some influence from wren hunt day or Saint Stephen’s day. It is a Catholic tradition which basically seems to me a way to raise money to have a ball. So happy, right? However, look at these song lyrics, “The wren the wren the king of all birds/ St Stephen’s Day was caught in the furze/ Her clothes were all torn- her shoes were all worn/ Up with the kettle and down with the pan/ Give us a penny to bury the “wran”” so I believe this happy occasion could easily be spun into something creepy, which I’m so excited for!

Along the Indigo by Elsie Chapman

Speaking of creepy, I’m really excited for this book. I really love books about towns where strange things just happen and it’s not explained and the whole town just goes with it. It’s very interesting to me to see when a whole group of people has a group-think mindset and doesn’t question something so obviously questionable. The town of Glory is creepy because of the seedy businesses that set up there and the higher rates of suicides that happen on the Indigo River. I’m excited to look in this book and find out why these things happen.

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather

I’ve seen a large amount of incredibly positive reviews recently for the sequel for this book, Haunting the Deep. I feel like I might’ve missed this book when it came out in 2016,  even though it’s wonderfully creepy, because it’s not a cover I usually associate with fantasy or magical realism. It also immediately says this book is like Mean Girls which is a movie I can only watch like once a year because it’s not that funny to me anymore.

Maisie Hobbs by Jacqueline Winspear

I found this from one of my favorite book tubers The Book Castle. I love detective stories and also stories of smart ladies so a detective story with a woman working her way to Cambridge and knocking down any prejudice against her is something right up my alley!

 

Heart of Mist by Helen Sheuerer

This book was interesting to me because the magic is described as a disease. Also, I saw an interview with the author who said she wrote her characters as all strong in different ways to counter the view that strong female characters are always going to be traditionally brave and heroic.

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

The book is based on another fictional book that is a cult-classic. I really just want to see if the story matches the beautiful cover.

The Visitors by Catherine Burns

This is a slow and disturbing novel about two elderly siblings that live together. The woman is content to live in ignorance of the dark basement and the secrets that her brother keeps down there. Yet, when the brother dies, she must face it. I think I’m going to like this slow horror story.

Tale of the Dueling Neurosurgeons by Sam Kean

This is a nonfiction book that I decided to add because of the research that I am doing for my own story. I have always been interested in the brain and mental health. This book talks about what has happened to real people when something very small changes about their brain.

Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

This is actually the book I selected for my Book of the Month. This is a book about a family in Mississippi and their struggles through the years. I believe this will be very character driven.

Advertisements

About Leah

Hi! I'm Leah. I like books, TV, and plants. I love writing about it all. Earnest Hemmingway said "Write hard and clear about what hurts," and I aspire to do just that. Thanks for reading!

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s